When You Marry an Eagle Scout

 

Be forewarned: (some serious bragging and mushy-mushy-ness is about to go down)

When I met Dillon we were both ten years old, at the time he was a tenderfoot  scout. As we grew up I watched him tirelessly work for merit badges. I heard the excited stories of camping trips and hikes. I missed him while he spent weeks at Camp Roosevelt. I watched as he built his Eagle Scout project, and worked to raise the money. And finally I was there at his court of honor as he became an Eagle Scout.  I watched him proudly, and I knew that someday I would marry him. And so I did 🙂

 

When you marry an Eagle scout you find that he follows the Scout Oath as well as the Scout law, and he is a better man, a better husband for it.

The Scout Oath

On my honor I will do my best to do my duty to God and my country and to obey the Scout Law; to help other people at all times; to keep myself physically strong, mentally awake, and morally straight.

The Scout Law

A Scout is trustworthy, loyal, helpful, friendly, courteous, kind, obedient, cheerful, thrifty, brave, clean, and reverent.

The Scout Motto

Be Prepared.

He honors his duty to country. He is involved and informed, which means that he pays attention to the news and to the world events, and does his research in order to make informed decisions that are well based in fact. He carefully considers his vote, and remembers his obligation to make his vote count. He is able to voice his opinions kindly and respectfully, and to articulate his thoughts well.

He is helpful. He does the dishes after dinner every day without being asked, he helps to cook dinner, slicing vegetables, washing dishes as we go, cooking up a PERFECT steak, stirring continually when the recipe calls for it and I don’t feel like doing it. He helps with the grocery shopping, pushing the cart and following me as I flit from shelf to shelf with the grocery list, keeping me company and carrying in the bags. He is there to lend a hand whenever it is needed, supporting me in everything I do.

He keeps himself physically strong making me get up at 5:30 am to go for a run with him, boxing workouts and keeping me engaged in our activities, hikes, and walks..

He is mentally strong, reading and building up his knowledge base, shocking me with his intelligence and wit…

He is morally straight. I am so proud of the way that he sticks to his guns and stands up for what he believes in..

He is friendly. He has a fun and friendly disposition that brightens up the day. He is funny and engaging with his friends, and he has a ready smile for those we meet.

He is courteous. Always a gentleman, he takes care of me and treats me like a Queen, opening doors and showing politeness and charm.

He is Kind. He shows kindness to me and to others. Self sacrificing and  loving, he is  sweet and thoughtful. He is kind and patient when I am irritable and sad. He is always there with a comforting touch and a well placed reassurance.

He is Cheerful. His beaming smile cheers me from my darkest gloom. He is my light when I retreat into my own darkness. That cheery smile, and goofy humor make my life so much more wonderful!

He is Brave. He faces all of our challenges bravely and with strength, whether it be looking for a new house, working on his degree, learning to live together on a budget, or facing health issues. He is my rock, and my brave leader.

He is clean. He is tidy and organized, helping me to keep the kitchen organized, and the bedroom tidy, proving my mother wrong in that I can indeed keep a house clean 😉

He is cool and calm under pressure. I have a tendency to totally lose it at the first sign of any injury, to overthink and overreact to issues, and to panic whenever a situation arises that I don’t know how to handle. He is calm, and collected, bringing me back to reality and caring for both of us so very well.

He knows first aid for helping me with my clumsies! Due to a total lack of grace, I am CONSTANTLY injuring myself. The first week of our marriage saw me stabbing myself on accident with a butter knife while cooking. His aptitude for first aid has seen us through many cuts and bruises. My first memory of this was of a twelve year old, tomboy me leaping off of a waterfall and cutting my foot on the rocks.. Twelve year old Dillon was quick to respond, bandaging and cleaning the cut. Of course I fell in love 🙂

He is a guide to the outdoors for me, showing me birds and trees, walking the trails with me on our many adventures. Camping, fishing, hiking, canoeing, shooting, knot tying, sailing, rock climbing. His skill for all things outdoors constantly impresses me and makes me so proud!

When I married an Eagle Scout I realized how lucky I was to be with such a wonderful man. Someone to lead me on this life adventure.

I am so grateful for the experiences, troop leaders, and the many people who were so influential in raising the amazing man who is my husband.

Leave a Reply

